Candlelight in the Window (Redux)

Five years ago I started this blog, and I admit my own negligence in keeping up regularly.  I decided to go back to the original post that started it all to inspire me to keep going. Here’s to a peaceful and uneventful 2017.

On New Year’s Eve, my mother always lit a candle for good luck in the coming year. She’d leave it lit until the candle extinguished itself. Before we went to bed, she’d place the bayberry candle  into the sink to avoid a fire during the night. In the morning, the wax would be frozen in long tracks down the sides of the silver candlestick like the colorful icing on a wedding cake.

Some say people separated during the holidays should leave a lit candle at the window to lure their loved one home.The gesture seems hopeful. It reminds me of high school when my sister and I would drive home on gravel roads, the darkness a cocoon engulfing us. With few houses along the prairie, we could make out the lights inside our farmhouse from miles away. There, we hoped our mother had supper waiting for us on the stove. Isn’t that what most of us want, a light from a loved one waiting for us, welcoming us when we reach home?

When I light my candle tonight, I’ll wish for lots of luck on my New Year’s resolution–keeping this blog up and running. May 2017 find you a little wiser, a little more forgiving, a little more eager to embrace change, and may a light be waiting for you when you reach your destination.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Candlelight in the Window (Redux)

  1. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA Y LOS TRES MOSQUETEROS:
    GRACIAS POR COMPARTIR TUS PENSAMIENTOS.
    DESEO QUE EL CALOR HUMANO DE LA FAMILIA, SE MANTENGA SIEMPRE ENCENDICDO EN SUS VIDAS.
    SAWABONA
    EL VIEJO LOBO

  2. Gracias, Señor Lobo! Espero que su año nuevo es maravilloso!

Leave a Reply

