A Writer Affair

Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 6.09.27 AMA long time ago, I fell head over comfortable shoes in love with an intelligent, thoughtful, quirky guy, and it’s not who you think. Sure, there’ve been others who’ve lead me astray with their wit and sophistication, but none are quite like my long-time favorite: Poe Ballantine.

This weekend, I finished Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere. It takes place in the small town of Chadron, Nebraska, not far from where my Gram lives and where my sister and a half-dozen high school friends attended college. It’s always fun to read a story and think, “I’ve been there. I know that grocery store. I’ve walked up that dorm’s staircase.” It’s a true-story-In-Cold-Blood-esque book that analyzes a murder and the possible suspects—but who had the motive and opportunity?

It has everything you need: strange bedfellows, a complicated love story, an innocent (seeming) victim, an off-beat writer, who happens to have a sketchy past, a Mexican-immigrant wife, and a possible Autistic son. Plus, Poe Ballantine wrote it—one of my absolute favorites (My Gram actually met him!! She mentioned it casually, saying, “Oh yes, he read at our library’s brown bag once. He’s very interesting!”) There’s even a documentary out that I have to find.

Okay, enough about my school girl crush already. What author are you in love with?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Writer Affair

  1. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA:
    COMO SIEMPRE ME GUSTA MUCHO COMO ESCRIBES. DESCRIBES LAS COSAS DE UNA MANERA VIVA Y SENCILLA.
    CUANDO TE VEA PERSONALMENTE TE DIRE QUIEN ES MI AUTOR/A FAVORIT@.
    SALUDOSA LOS TRES MOSQUETEROS
    SAWABONA
    GILBERTO

  2. Kim

    I love your posts. They cheer me up. Steve Almond is mine! He’s funny and heartbreaking and in addition to stories, his book Candyfreak is about his tour of family-owned, near-extinction chocolate factories across our nation. My prized possession is his note in a recent publication of his: “Kim, Your job is to LOVE HARD every day.” ~swoon~

Leave a Reply

