Starting Over

IMG_0995

A few months ago, I started knitting. I’m making all the rookie mistakes and dropping stitches like Hansel and Grettle’s crumbs. Though it’s mostly relaxing, at times I feel frustrated.

The other day, I talked to a woman about a shawl I’m making. I told her I started changing the color every few inches, but I wanted to learn to seed stitch, switching from knit to purl every other stitch. I explained how I went ahead and just started changing the stitch in the middle of the shawl. Now that I’ve practiced, I’ve become more proficient. I thought it might make a funky design with the different types of stitches spread throughout the shawl.

She said once she learns a new stitch and has practiced for a while, she pulls out what she’s made and starts over. For a few days, I couldn’t bear pulling out the stitches and starting over when I’d worked so hard. But last night, I grabbed the end of the shawl and yanked it out. I knew the shawl would look better if I just started over.

This won’t be the only thing I’ll be redoing. I learned last Saturday I didn’t pass my National Boards. I’m going to have to really think about whether I’m going to pull out the dropped stitches of my work and start over. If I decide to do it, I’m sure I’ll grow, but for now, the idea of starting over just feels overwhelming.

What have you ever had to start over?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Starting Over

  1. K. Adonna

    This is heartbreaking and inspiring. I am sorry to hear the down news. Of course, there are the acidic views of the folks who made their decision (they are wrong, they are boobieheads), but perhaps this IS your time to get rid of stuff that doesn’t work and to surround yourself with freshness.
    P.S. Back in 1999, I failed 2 of the 8 comprehensive exams for my speech pathology degree. Since then, lower “scores” in all of the funny aspects of life have taught me to either let go or work harder (depending on how much I want a thingie). Sending love! ❤ ❤

  2. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA:
    EN LA VIDA TODOS LOS DIAS SE TIENE LA GRAN OPORTUNIDAD DE EMPEZAR. ES NUESTRA DECISION DECIDIR QUE VAMOS A HACER. NO DEJES QUE OTRAS MENTES TORPES NUBLEN TUS DECISIONES.
    TU VALES MUCHO Y POR LO MISMO TU DECISION SERA LA MEJOR.

    SALUDOS A LOS TRES MOSQUETEROS
    GILBERTO

Leave a Reply

