The Sandlot

100_2174

For the past few days, I’ve walked the boys to a little park down the street, and they’ve played soccer. Neighborhood kids riding by on bikes have seen us and called out, “I’ll be right back. I have to ask my mom!” They return decked out in shin guards, long socks, and jerseys.

It’s pretty great to watch six and seven year-old boys run around pretending to juke and jive like Pelé or Beckham or Ronaldo. They make their own rules, call their own fouls, monitor out of bounds, and banter about the legitimacy of their goals. Sometimes they stop to watch planes fly by or check out the rising moon. The other boys can’t tell the twins apart, so they gave the twins the same nickname: “Tiny.” As in, “Give the ball to Tiny!”

After some pretty spectacular play, one by one they were called home for dinner, only instead of hearing a mother’s voice call from down the street, cell phones rang. I heard the same response I’m sure mothers have heard for centuries, “Yeah, yeah, I’ll be home in a minute.”

Eventually, I walked the boys back home feeling like I’d witnessed the movie “The Sandlot” in real life.

When’s the last time you played in the park?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Sandlot

  1. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA:

    TUS HISTORIAS Y TU FORMA DE ESCRIBIR ME ENCANTA.
    ESTE RELATO ME TRAJO RECUERDOS DE MI INFANCIA, PERO NO JUGABAMOS EN UN PARQUE, JUGABAMOS EN LA CALLE, PONIENDO LADRILLOS COMO PORTERIAS Y LAS MADRES TENIA QUE SALIR PARA QUE NOS METIERAMOS A CENAR Y TERMINAR LA TAREA Y ESO PASABA TODAS LAS TARDES. TODOS LOS QUE VIVIAN EN LA CUADRA SE CONOCIAN MUY BIEN. BELLA INFANCIA.
    AHORA VEO EL SITEMA DIFERENTE DE USA. PARQUES BELLOS Y ASOCIACIONES BIEN ORGANIZADAS (ME GUSTA).
    LO UNICO QUE EXTRAÑO ES QUE EN LA CUADRA DONDE SE VIVE NO HAY TANTA CONVIVENCIA Y EN OCASIONES NO SABES NI QUIEN VIVE EN ESAS CASAS.

    BUENO QUE SIGAN DISFRUTANDO EL CRECER DE SUS FORMIDABLES SUPER HEROES.

    SALUDOS A TUS TRES MOSQUETEROS
    GIL

  2. K. Adonna

    A great post. Comforting. Sweet. And the photo of ’em — yes.
    I am trying to think. When WAS the last time I played in a park? Perhaps it was last March or April, when my partner (at the time) and I took his 2 daughters to his neighborhood park and had a ball. Before then, there was a park near Atrisco & Central where I would take my soccer ball and run the field. That was 4 years ago — that soccer playing thing. Thank you for your thoughtful blog writings, Dana! ❤

Leave a Reply

