Summer Fallow

Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 6.39.25 PM

For almost eight years, I’ve followed the Treadmill Journal technique. I have a special notebook with my writing hours over days, months, and eventually an entire year. There’ve been a few times where I’ve slowed down because of school commitments and other personal issues, like taking two months off when I had the twins. Because of the stressful school year (new evaluation system, completing the National Boards, and implementing two new curriculums for two different classes, etc. etc.), I’m exhausted. I’ve decided to take a much needed writing break.

Even in the few weeks off I’ve given myself, I still feel a little uneasy about not writing each day. To assuage my guilt, I’ve decided to call it “summer fallow” season. Just as my father used to rotate crops on certain pieces of land to allow the nutrients in the soil to regenerate, I’m allowing myself to rest, conserve my energy so I can refocus when I begin again. A field of summer fallow doesn’t necessarily look appealing, but the next season, the soil is rich with nutrients and the following crop is more productive.

When do you need a “summer fallow” season?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Summer Fallow

  1. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA:

    CREO QUE MAESTR@S COMO TU, QUE REALMENTE PONEN TODA SU PASION PARA DAR CLASES, SE MERECEN UN DESCANSO DE VERANO.

    DALE UN FUERTE ABRAZO A TUS TRES MOSQUETEROS Y QUE SIGAN DISFRUTANDO SUS VACACIONES.

    SAWABONA
    GILBERTO

Leave a Reply

