Super Bowl Sunday

Screen Shot 2012-01-12 at 5.24.05 AM

In honor of the big game, I dug into the archives for a repeat. Go Broncos!

In the far-flung corner of northeastern Colorado where I grew up, almost everyone I knew cheered for the Broncos. On Sunday afternoons, if I were helping my dad with chores—putting in metal fence posts around a golden-stalked cornfield or moving farm equipment—we’d listen to the game on the radio.

As a kid, I often watched the games at my grandparents’ house. During halftime, I’d go to the machine shed and shoot baskets or play one-on-one with my sister. We’d return to the house just in time for the second half and bowls of homemade caramel corn  Gram had whipped up—a treat to savor during the rest of the game.

On the playground the next week, in a tiny prairie town, my elementary school classmates and I would take turns being John Elway, Sammy Winder, Steve Watson, shoeless Rich Karlis, among others. We’d imitate the jukes and jives we’d seen on TV. In our imaginations, we were as graceful as any professional, though I’m sure our teachers watched with quiet amusement.

Now that I’m a teacher, my students (almost all Dallas Cowboy fans) tease me unmercifully about cheering for the Broncos. When I tell them that I’ve been rooting for the Broncos since before they were born, the subject quickly changes to “How old are you miss? You must be seriously old! Tell us the truth. . .were the dinosaurs your pets?”

Who was your favorite childhood team? Do you still cheer for them?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Super Bowl Sunday

  1. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA:

    EN MEXICO NO HAY EQUIPOS PROFESIONALES DE FOOTBALL, SOLO HAY EQUIPOS A NIVEL UNIVERSITARIO (NIVEL COLEGIAL) Y LOS FAVORITOS ERAN LOS PUMAS (UNAM) Y EL POLITECNICO. MI JUGADOR FAVORITO ERA MERCADO DE LOS PUMAS.

    AQUI, EN USA, MIS EQUIPOS FAVORITOS SON: LOS BRONCOS Y NEW ENGLAND.
    ME IMAGINO QUE DEBE HABER UN POCO DE DOLOR POR LO QUE PASO EN EL SUPER BOWL.

    CAMBIANDO DE TEMA, ANOCHE LEI TU HISTORIA EN NDQ “JIMMY” Y ME GUSTARIA HABLAR CONTIGO, PUES ME GUSTO MUCHO; PUES TENGO VARIAS PREGUNTAS.
    “GIRL.YOU GOT A TALENT, DON’T YOU/?”

    CUIDATE Y SALUDOS A LOS TRES MOSQUETEROS
    SAWABONA
    GILBERTO

  2. This is a little late Dana, but I am here with you at the training so I was checking your blog out to see what has happened … Anyways, I was a major Raiders fan (boo Broncos) growing up but that was when they were in LA, which is where I originally hail from … First they took the Rams away from us (I was happy at the time), and then they took the Raiders back to Oakland … the truth is I still cheer and root for the Raiders, but I believe they are still the LA Raiders … FYI … And I absolutely hate the Broncos with a passion on principle …

Leave a Reply

