Well, Hello 2014

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 9.22.10 AM

Last year, several friends  chose words like “lucky,” “happy,” and “forward” to focus on throughout 2013. They’d gotten the idea of choosing a word instead of a resolution through the My One Word phenomenon. I never did narrow down a word for 2013; it was too much pressure. I should have chosen “perseverance” because so much of this year seems to be about pushing through to complete all the changes in education and trying to complete my National Boards.

There are certain years I feel more confident about than others, and  I have very good vibes about 2014. There are many things to look forward to: the Broncos may end up in the Super Bowl (I hope I didn’t just jinx this!); my niece will finish her treatments for leukemia and go into remission; I’ll finish my National Boards; we’ll spend time during the summer in Nebraska; the boys will head off to Kindergarten in August; we might actually make it to Corn Festival (a celebration in my hometown) in the fall, and who knows what other fun events will arrive unannounced. With all of this, I’ll try to continue my resolution to keep this blog up and running. I’m so grateful for your comments and encouragement, and I’m excited about another year of sharing experiences from school and home.

After reviewing our resolutions from last year, Javi can do a cartwheel and write his name in crayon. Kiki read a lot of books at school and learned more about apples and bananas. Tonight, we’ll continue the tradition of a sparkling cider toast and some more resolutions to focus on in the coming year.

Usually, I’m a little melancholy on New Year’s Eve, but I’m really looking forward to a new year with all the optimism and anticipation it brings.

What are your hopes for 2014?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Well, Hello 2014

  1. Bonnie Schwertner

    I love the one word idea. I’ve been thinking about some changes I wanted to make in my life, but didn’t know how to put it in positive words. “Disciplined” is all I need. Every day I will practice this, but how I do that will depend upon the day, not some set in stone and limiting resolution.

  2. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA:
    QUE BUENO SABER QUE MANTENDRAS TU “BLOG”. DESEO QUE TODOS SUS PROPOSITOS PARA EL 2014 SE CUMPLAN.
    EL MIO ES MUY SIMPLE: SEGUIR BUSCANDO CADA DIA LA FELICIDAD.
    UN FUERTE ABRAZO PARA TI Y TUS TRES MOSQUETEROS.
    SAWABONA
    GILBERTO

  3. Gracias. Disfruta de tu año!!

Leave a Reply

