The One Where I Talk About the Boys, Oreos, and a Fan Gift

Screen Shot 2013-07-30 at 8.13.04 PM

Did you miss me? I know it’s the longest break I’ve had so far, but hasn’t this summer flown by? Here are some of the things I’ve been enjoying the past few weeks:

  1. Coming of Age in the Middle. Last spring, Jessica Lahey earned a huge book deal that will come out next year based on a piece she wrote for The Atlantic about allowing kids to fail. She teaches in a private school, and she’s decided to take a couple years off to complete her book and go on a national tour. How great would that be!
  2. My first fan gift: Okay, it’s happened twice now. The past two summers, when I go to my sister’s house, my fan has made me salsa from the vegetables in his garden. Yes, homemade salsa will get you a shout out (Hey, Dave!). It’s extra special because I’ve never actually met him. But even if you know me personally, feel free to send me gifts.
  3. Oreos: When I look back over the years, I’ll fondly say, “Was that the summer I was obsessed with Oreos?” I can’t tell you how many Oreos I’ve actually eaten the past few weeks. (Seriously, Nabisco, you should put an ad on my page! I deserve it.)
  4. Books: You knew I was going to say that, didn’t you? I just finished Townie by Andre Dubus III, and I’m almost done with Magical Thinking by Augusten Burroughs.  Any suggestions out there?
  5. The Boys: They’ve had an incredible summer riding  bikes and horses, swimming, and visiting family. While we’re still working on the whole crying and whining thing, it’s gotten a whole lot better.

What have you enjoyed this summer?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “The One Where I Talk About the Boys, Oreos, and a Fan Gift

  1. Mark Nightingale

    Yes, you have been missed. Don’t leave it so long this time please. Talking of gifts. Is there still a religious theme in your bathroom. If so, I will search for an addition. Mark xx

  2. I’ll try my best to post more regularly, and yes, the religious theme continues in the bathroom! We’ve had to take a few things out so the boys wouldn’t mess with it, but essentially, it’s the same! Hope you’re having happy travels…

    • Mark Nightingale

      I am on a mission to find something new for the bathroom. Will take into consideration, limitations due to small people!!!!

  3. Dave Wutke

    Thank you the shout out. GREAT way to start the morning in Kansas. I enjoy the posts and look forward to them. Hope you enjoyed your stay in the Sunflower State. You should see the tomatoes starting to ripen in the garden. Keep on writing. Dave.

    Sent from my iPad

  4. Yow! NUMBER ONE on your list of things you’ve been enjoying?? I don’t think my own family enjoys me that much. I’ve bookmarked your blog and will be returning once my big head and I have recovered.

    I like mint Oreos – actually, the Newman’s version that’s mint, and as for books, I just started listening to Orange is the New Black because I had to have my teeth drilled today and needed a distraction. It’s really entertaining. I have not had a chance to watch the show based on her book yet, but people are raving. Actually, ANY book that’s not research for my book is kind of a treat right now. Hours in the day are limited.

    Blah, blah, blah…back to the point, which was supposed to be a simple thank you!

    Jess

    • Thank you so much for leaving a comment. What a HUGE surprise! I will definitely check out Orange Is the New Black–though sorry you had to listen during teeth drilling–YUCK, Though I know it won’t be out for awhile, I’m anxiously awaiting your book. Good luck!

  5. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA:

    HAY MUCHO QUE PLATICAR, ASI QUE LO HARE CUANDO LOS VEA EN TRUMAN.
    POR LO PRONTO GRACIAS POR COMPARTIR TU MOMENTOS DE VERANO
    SALUDOS A TUS TRES MOSQUETEROS
    GILBERTO

Leave a comment