So Many Books, So Little Time

Screen Shot 2013-03-11 at 6.39.15 AMNow that a little of my spring cleaning has been tackled, I’m on to spring reading.  I read quite a bit anyway—as the stacks of books on the buffet and the dust in my house can attest to—but now that the boys are a little older, I can read way more than I did even a year ago. People have been asking what I’ve been reading, and right now, I’m in the middle of several books.

I’m halfway through Austen’s Sense and Sensibilities. I have to admit that I haven’t read very many of her works, and I always feel like an imposter English major when people talk about her or the Bronte sisters. I figured the best way to get around that is to start reading more of them. So far, I’m enjoying it—though I’m envious of the time the Dashwood family and their acquaintances have to sit around, listen to music, read, and have catty conversations.

I just finished Dolly Parton’s My Life and Other Unfinished Business. (Some of you out there are probably cringing!) I might not have picked this one up if it weren’t for my book club, but I’m glad I did. And I mostly enjoyed it, but there were a few places that felt like an infomercial for her upcoming work. I love Dolly Parton, though, and there were many parts that reminded me of country living. Some of her sayings sounded just like what would come out of my Gram Salvador or my sister Shannon’s mouth. (Those of you who knew/know either one of them understand that there’s not much that wouldn’t come out of their mouths!)

I’m slowly making my way through Smoke and The Book of Men by Dorianne Laux. What I love about poetry books is that you can pick them up everyday and read just a few pages. I usually find myself re-reading the poems I like a little more, though. I love her simplicity and everyday voice, which contradicts the depth of the topic she’s turned her eye towards.

Speaking of re-reading, I’m in the middle of re-reading a book I love: Triggering Town by Richard Hugo. I can’t remember who recommended the book to me years and years ago or tell you how many times I’ve read this book. I wish I could have taken a class with him; unfortunately, I was only in second grade when he passed away. The essays in the book speak to writers, and his voice sounds like he’s giving a lecture—but an interesting, wise lecture to a room full of diligent students.

Another book I’m re-reading is Kim Addinizio and Dorianne Laux’s book A Poet’s Companion: A Guide to the Pleasure of Writing Poetry. I love both poets, so this book is doubly good.  If you need ideas for your next poem, or anything else you’re writing, this book will help you uncover those ideas and help foster your creativity. I usually go through this book slowly, taking their advice to write for twenty minutes after each prompt.

I’m headed to the library today to pick up The Great Gatsby (another re-read), Gone Girl, Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Really Motivates Us, A Thousand Splendid Suns, and The Turquoise Ledge. I just wish I could finish them all before the end of break!

What books are you reading?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “So Many Books, So Little Time

  1. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA:

    QUE BUENO QUE ESTAS ENCONTRANDO TIEMPO PARA TI. LA FAMILIA ES LO MAS IMPORTANTE EN LA VIDA, PERO PARA ESTAR BIEN CON LA FAMILIA, PRIMERO TIENES QUE ESTAR BIEN CONTIGO. TE FELICITO POR ESTAR LEYENDO TANTO Y SOBRE TODO QUE ESTES DISFRUTANDO TUS LIBROS.

    YO ESTOY LEYENDO LA VIDA MISTERIOSA Y ASOMBROSA DE LAS CULICOMBAS, DE MAY KIM XANTICHITL.

    SALUDOS A TUS TRES MOSQUETEROS
    GILBERTO

Leave a Reply

