Kindness In Progress

Screen Shot 2013-03-03 at 7.30.42 AM

Remember back to the post 26, 27 or 28 and Ann Curry’s acts of kindness campaign? I said I’d fill you in once in a while on where I am.

I switched up my original plan a bit and decided to do twenty acts that benefit students/children and six that benefit teachers. I’d already decided to include one act of kindness toward a mother in need, and donate to Hogares here in town.

I’ve accomplished twenty-one acts of kindness. Some include acquiring dance tickets for students at school, attending games, delivering milk, secret presents, and letters of appreciation.  I might have done some of these things regardless of the challenge, but others I almost let slip by like the milk.

I was at Albertson’s, and they were giving away two gallons of milk for free if you bought $100 worth of groceries. I just made the cutoff, but we don’t eat/drink dairy products. I told them I wasn’t interested. Then, I realized I could give the milk to a family I know who could use it. So I recanted, obtained the milk and delivered it to the family. In some ways, the challenge has made me more cognizant of what I would normally do and how a little bit more effort can make a difference.

I still have a ways to go, but little by little I’m spreading some kindness around.

What act of kindness have you completed today?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Kindness In Progress

  1. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA YOU AND YOUR 3 “MOSQUETEROS” ARE GREAT.
    GRACIAS POR LAS COSAS QUE HACEN POR LA COMUNIDAD.
    CUIDENSE
    GILBERTO

Leave a Reply

