A Super Sparkly Year

Screen Shot 2013-01-08 at 8.03.09 PM

 

Is My One Word just a fad or a revolutionary idea? Instead of resolutions, I’ve had several people tell me about words they’re focusing on for 2013. In case you haven’t heard about it, the idea behind My One Word is to find a word that you can build your actions around for the coming year.

One of my friends chose the word “lucky” as her inspiration this year because 13 is her lucky number. She’s very excited about the fortuitous things 2013 will bring.

“Happy” represents 2013 for another friend. She said she’s going to use this as a barometer for what she plans to do each day. Besides responsibilities (work, bills, etc.), if it doesn’t make her happy, she’s not doing it. She even mentioned there were people who she’s not going to answer the phone for any more because they don’t make her happy.

Still another person decided on the word “forward.” She plans to march forward through 2013 as three of her loved ones recover from or wage a battle against cancer.

Picking one word for an entire year seems a little daunting. I realize it’s just a word, but one that I’ll be faced with all year. Maybe I should pick something safe and achievable like “try” or “nice”. I have so many different projects in mind for 2013, maybe I should pick “complete.” For indecisive people like me, My One Word is a difficult thing to do! Maybe I should just pick “sparkly.” Can you ever go wrong with “sparkly”? Um, maybe I should keep looking.

What word would you like to define your 2013?

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “A Super Sparkly Year

  1. secretagentmrchubby

    ‘Footsteps’ is my word. Another walk will start in just over a months time and I am so looking forward to it. It will fill most of the months of this year so I think ‘Footsteps’ is the best word to define my year. Loving your blog by the way xx

    • I love your word!!! Where are you going to walk to this time??? I hope you might have your own blog to share the experience, too. Let me know if you do!

      xoxo

      • secretagentmrchubby

        I am walking the Coast of Britain. Starting next month from a town called Wisbech, which is where my parents have retired to. That is eight miles inland, so I will walk to the Coast turn left and follow the Coast in an anti-clockwise direction until I get back, hopefully before Christmas!! Not sure about a blog but at the very least I will use Facebook for updates and photos x

  2. Claudia Loomis

    PRIORITIZE

  3. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA:

    YO VOY A ESCOGER LA PALABRA: “PASION”
    CREO QUE CUANDO SE LOGRA PONER PASION EN LO QUE SE HACE, SIGNIFICA QUE ESTAS SALUDABLE Y QUE LO QUE HACES TE GUSTA MUCHO.
    ESPERO ENCONTRAR ESA PASION CADA DIA DE MI VIDA.
    CUIDATE Y SALUDOS A TUS TRES MOSQUETEROS.
    GILBERTO

Leave a Reply

