Distractions, Distractions, Distractions

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ll notice that I’ve been away a little too long. Mostly, I’ve been distracted with the usual:

The boys: We’ve spent the past seven Sundays on the soccer field. They started out chasing their shadows in the backfield or trying to do cartwheels. During halftime, they would climb on their coach’s back at the same time. However, in the last few games, they each scored goals and started to get the hang of following the action. We’re going to take a break for the winter, but we’ll be back on the field come springtime.

They’ve also been going to gymnastics on Tuesday nights. They’re the only boys and act like complete lunatics–jumping on all the equipment, pretending they’re blind and banging into walls, hiding underneath the balance beam when they should be transitioning to the next station. I think the instructor, Miss Robin, thinks we give them M&M’s with a Mountain Dew chaser in the car on the way over. They’re still working on listening to Miss Robin (and sometimes I have to go into the gym and put them in time out because of it). The girls in the class find their antics mostly amusing—except for the cutting in line. I think the medicinal value of laughing that much has kept me out of therapy.

Mom-in Law: My mom-in-law stayed for about six weeks. I know, most of you are gasping right now, but it works out okay for us. The laundry and dishes get done more regularly, which helps make the time go by a little faster. And the boys love having her around, though it might just be for all the candy and juice she sneaks to them when we are not looking.

Book Club: My book club just finished reading Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. It’s a great book. In fact, it’s now on my favorites list. The minute I finished it, I started re-reading passages. (This past month, I also read The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh, and Greg Martin’s Stories for Boys. Both are super great reads. I also  read Siberian Education by Nicolai Lilin. It’s an interesting look at the underworld life, but the writing doesn’t compare to the books above). Our next book is The Boy Kings of Texas by Domingo Martinez. Pick it up and let me know what you think.

Illness: The boys brought home the stomach flu. It circulated to everyone, skipping only Miguel. I can’t begin to tell you how many sets of sheets we washed over the week and a half the bug infested our house.

School: Are you ready for acronym overload? SLC, PLC, ACE, 4-points, DOL, HP Unit exams, DBA’s and the upcoming ACCESSS looming ahead. I’m a little behind, and no, I’m not going to explain all those silly acronyms.

House: We had our guest bathroom and laundry room tiled. It looks amazing and makes me even more excited about finishing  the flooring in the rest of the house. But, there were a few days of inconvenience to endure.

Sherman Alexie: Yes, I slipped away last week and had a date night with Sherman Alexie. I was one of the lucky ones to make it inside Woodward Hall. He spoke for almost two hours, and it felt like two minutes.

What’s been distracting you lately???

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Distractions, Distractions, Distractions

  1. Andrea

    Oh my God, I want to date Sherman Alexie so bad!

Leave a Reply

