Oh, the Places You Will Go! ~Dr. Suess

The school year has finally caught up with me, and I find myself looking forward to Fall Break with more longing than an eighth grader waiting for promotion. Though we’re not going anywhere, the extra day off has made me think of the many places I’ve traveled to over the years. Here’s a little list of a few places you might want to check out, too.

Indian Caves, Nebraska. Your top choice, right? This was the first place Miguel and I camped during a long autumn holiday. It’s quite beautiful, even if out of the way. The weather turned iffy, and I was still recovering from sleeping on the ground, so we ended up heading back a little early to watch the Nebraska game. (picture above)

Banff, British Columbia: During our extended honeymoon trip, Miguel and I stayed a few nights in Banff. Trying to get every newlywed perk possible, Miguel dropped the information on a barista, hoping to win him some percentage off his coffee. The guy said, “Oh, you must be staying at The Banff Spring Hotel in the honeymoon suite.” Well, not exactly–more like, a nice campground outside of Banff. But it was really amazing, nonetheless.

Rota, Spain: My uncle used to live in Spain. The beach was only a couple blocks away from his house. Most of the women, no matter what their age or figure, wear bikinis. I got a lot of puzzled looks at my Tankini–which I thought was trés chic but must have looked like a burka to everyone else. It was only a few more blocks to a quiet downtown area. Quaint and out of the way, but totally worth the trip.

Queenstown, New Zealand: I spent my student teaching living with one of the nicest families you’d ever meet. The Incredible Mountain range is just that–incredible, and the friendliness of the locals incomparable. Plus, the beauty of the area never stopped stunning me during my six months there.

Cuernavaca, Mexico: A month long Spanish language class landed me here in the heart of Mexico. Plenty of cultural events and day excursions to choose from not far from the city. I  stayed with a lovely woman whose maid created the most mouth-watering meals. I learned the phrase, “Es como cielo” while eating her food.

Edinburgh, Scotland: We stayed in one of the most expensive hostels I’ve ever paid for—I called it the Dungeon for good reason. But, since we barely spent any time inside the hostel, the rest of Edinburgh made up for the awful lodgings. We even tried hagas—a very acquired taste.

Naples, Italy: Miguel and I each gained 10 pounds on our trip to Italy. Plenty of pasta, fresh bread, pizza, wine and desserts did me in. Miguel and I arrived on a rainy day in January, and while the weather would be iffy throughout the trip, it was worth it considering the lines to all the museums and historic sights were virtually nonexistent. Plus, the families we met were incredibly kind and generous.

London, England: Like most places, Miguel and I actually camped in Crystal Palace with a good friend, rather than stay in the heart of London. Yet, we were good, little tourists and saw Big Ben, Notting Hill, Hyde Park among other must sees in the city.

Paris, France: My mom and I accidentally ended up near the Eiffle Tower at dusk on Bastille Day. We watched the most amazing firework display I’ve ever seen. Besides this, there’s wine, wine, and crème brulee. Oh, and there’s the Louvre, too!

 

Albuquerque, New Mexico: Mi casa es su casa! Green chili on everything and the Sandia mountains in the background. I can’t really complain.

Where’ve you been?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Oh, the Places You Will Go! ~Dr. Suess

  1. Gilberto Lobo

    DANA:

    ME DA GUSTO QUE COMPARTAS LOS MOMENTOS Y LUGARES QUE HAN VISITADO. VIAJAR ES DE LO MAS BELLO QUE UNO PUEDE HACER. YO TAMBIEN HE TENIDO LA FORTUNA DE VIAJAR Y CONOCER GENTE Y LUGARES MUY BELLOS. DE TODOS LOS LUGARES QUE MENCIONAS, EL QUE NUNCA HE VISITADO ES NEW ZELAND.

    CUANDO VI LA FOTO DE EDINBURGO ME TRAJO BELLOS RECUERDOS, PUES EN 1982 ESTUVE POR UN MES EN ESA BELLA CIUDAD (TAN LLENA DE HISTORIA Y BELLOS LUGARES), TOMADO UN CURSO SOBRE PRODUCCION PORCINA Y DURANTE LOS FINES DE SEMANA PUDE VISITRA MUCHOS LUGARES DEL AREA. BELLISIMO.

    BUENO GRACIAS POR COMPARTIR Y QUE DESCANSEN DURANTE ESTE FIN DE SEMANA LARGO.
    CUIDENSE
    GILBERTO

Leave a Reply

