Energy and persistence conquer all things. Benjamin Franklin


After some really insightful feedback on a project I’ve been working on, I realized that a major renovation is needed. We’re talking a beginning-to-end rewrite, not just a simple edit job. Metaphorically speaking, I’m going to be tearing down a dilapidated house to its foundation and rebuilding from there. More and more, I’m seeing the benefit of this large-scale “mulligan,” but it’s daunting to think about the uphill challenge (and years of work ahead of me). While I’m excited about the possibilities, I’m also a little overwhelmed.

It’s just that I’m so tired, and all I really want to do is lounge on the side of the pool with a soda and a book. Or maybe go to a movie and eat a whole tub of popcorn with Milk Duds thrown inside. Or, sit on the porch gossiping with a margarita in my hand.

My combination of exhaustion, dwindling motivation, but desire to see the job to completion has made me contemplate Ben’s quote a lot lately. Energy + persistence = success, right?

So, here I go. Wish me luck.

What project do you want to finish, but aren’t sure you can muster the energy to push through?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

